Safe First Country Agreement

Agreements with Central American countries are moving tactically south of the U.S. border. The United States signed its first „safe third country“ agreement with Canada. Basically, if you go through the U.S. to claim asylum in Canada, or vice versa, you will go back because the U.S. and Canada are considered safe enough for asylum seekers and equipped to handle refugee and refugee claims fairly. Agreement with Honduras: In a series of agreements with the Honduran government, the Trump administration has sought to reduce migration from the region to the United States. In an agreement similar to that of the Guatemalan and Salvadoran governments, the United States could return asylum seekers to Honduras if they cross the country without seeking asylum beforehand. OTTAWA/TORONTO (Reuters) – A Canadian court on Wednesday struck down a bilateral pact that requires asylum seekers who want to enter Canada through the U.S. border to first seek instability in the United States. The agreement helps both governments better manage access to the refugee system in each country for people crossing the land border between Canada and the United States.

The two countries signed the agreement on 5 December 2002 and came into force on 29 December 2004. On January 30, 2017, critic Jenny Kwan of the New Democratic Party (PND) of IMMIGRATION, refugees and citizens of Canada (IRCC) proposed an emergency debate on „President Trump`s immigration and travel ban from seven countries in the Middle East and North Africa.“ [17] During the debate, the NDP called on the government to immediately suspend the agreement on the security of third-country nationals, citing the fact that „Canada can no longer trust that the U.S. refugee system provides refuge for those at risk of persecution.“ [18] The official Conservative Party of Canada has stated that it will not oppose the suspension of the agreement,[19] while the Green Party of Canada has expressed support for the suspension of the agreement. [20] To date, the United States is the only country to be designated by Canada as a safe third country under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act. The Trump administration has repeatedly threatened countries and led them to sign these agreements. Guatemala signed an agreement on a „safe third country“ after the government threatened it with tariffs, travel bans and transfer taxes. Prior to the launch of the Remain in Mexico program, the government threatened to impose tariffs on all Mexican products. The agreement was signed on December 5, 2002 in Washington, D.C. by Bertin Cété (Deputy Head of Mission, Canadian Embassy) and Arthur E. Dewey (Assistant Secretary of State for Population, Refugees and Migration, United States). Under the Trump administration, the Department of Homeland Security pressured Central American governments to sign agreements to prevent migrants from traveling north to the U.S.-Mexico border.